Order Prints and More!
 
Add to Google Reader or Homepage
Subscribe in Bloglines
Subscribe in NewsGator Online

Get these daily photos
directly to your e-mail:

 
 
Follow me on Twitter
 
 
Proud to use a
Canon XTi
from B&H Photo
 
 
       

Crossmark Design Photography

Wednesday, November 4, 2009

 

Back Entrance


Back entrance to a mom-and-pop store near Foster and 92nd in Portland. I'm guessin' they don't use it much.

Labels: , ,

Friday, October 2, 2009

 

Jackson Tower


Finishing off my monochromatic theme this week with an architectural detail from Jackson Tower near Pioneer Square in Portland.

Labels: ,

Tuesday, September 29, 2009

 

Basement Window


Window near 36th and Hawthorne in Portland. The brick wall is actually a bright teal, but I'm in a monochromatic mood this week.

Addendum:  Here's the color version for those who are curious. Oh, and this wall is across the street from the Waffle Window -- a must visit for any Portlandians!


Labels: ,

Thursday, September 3, 2009

 

No Dump

I guess there's no dump here. Huh.

Labels: ,

Wednesday, September 2, 2009

 

Swirly Alien Robot

"This way to the swirly orange thing and the smiley alien robot." Or that's what I take this sign to mean.

It's signage for the new MAX train line opening in Portland on September 12th. (But I won't be riding it. 'Cause I (gasp!) bought a car. Don't hate my un-earth-hugging ways.)

And in case you're not from Portland, the top sign is the logo for the TriMet public transit system. S'posed to be a rose.

Labels: ,

Tuesday, September 1, 2009

 

El Pato Wall

Exterior wall of the "El Pato Feliz" (yes, "The Happy Duck") mexican restaurant near 92nd and Foster in Portland.

After four months off, I'm finally back to photo blogging. A few of you loyal fans have nagged just enough to get me going again. So from the bottom of my camera bag -- thanks for the encouragement. =)

Labels: ,

Tuesday, May 5, 2009

 

Hometown Pizza

Pizza shop on Knight and 72nd. Haven't tried their pizza yet. Great, now I'm hungry.

Labels:

Monday, April 20, 2009

 

Salem Fountain

Modern curves of a water sculpture near Oregon's capitol building in Salem, Oregon. Click for larger view.

Labels:

Friday, April 17, 2009

 

Andy's Inn

Painted sign on the side of Andy's Inn, a bar on Foster in Portland.

Labels: ,

Thursday, April 16, 2009

 

Revolucion

Graffiti near the Burnside Bridge in Portland. Someone has too much time on their hands. Click for larger.

Labels:

Tuesday, April 14, 2009

 

Bus Bingo

Bus route letters and numbers -- like a game of transit bingo.

Labels:

Sunday, April 12, 2009

 

Yamhill Stroll

An elderly man takes a stroll along Yamhill and 2nd Ave in downtown Portland. Click for larger view.

Labels: , ,

Thursday, April 9, 2009

 

Sky Tracks

Looking up the outside of a glass elevator shaft -- like train tracks to the sky.

Labels: ,

Tuesday, April 7, 2009

 

Angled 6713

Odd angled doorway at 6713 SE Foster, Portland. Click for larger view.

Labels: ,

Sunday, April 5, 2009

 

Mohawk Windows

Looking up at windows of the Mohawk Building at 3rd Ave and Morrison in downtown Portland. Click for larger view.

Labels: ,

Sunday, March 29, 2009

 

Uruapan Taqueria

Freshly painted yellow door on 82nd and Reedway in Portland. Click for larger view.

Labels: ,

Wednesday, March 25, 2009

 

Speedy Orange

Speedy orange biker along Morrison and 3rd Avenue in Portland.

Labels: , ,

Sunday, March 15, 2009

 

Iron Chicken

Above a doorway in southeast Portland.

Labels: ,

Wednesday, March 11, 2009

 

Corner Shop

Corner of a mini-shopping strip nearby.

Labels: ,

Tuesday, March 10, 2009

 

Brown City

Foggy brown morning out my office window. Click for larger view.

Labels:

Sunday, March 8, 2009

 

McTrash

Trash can outside McDonald's.

Labels: ,

Thursday, March 5, 2009

 

Parking Bar

Long view of a cross-bar protecting the entrance of a parking lot. Nice of them to have the cushy padding in case the bar comes down on your vehicle by mistake.

Labels:

Sunday, March 1, 2009

 

Trash Colors

Rainbow of trash bins.

Labels:

Thursday, February 26, 2009

 

Thousands of Items

Advertising on the side of a building.

Labels: ,

Wednesday, February 25, 2009

 

Mumiy Troll

Concert poster on a telephone pole.

Labels:

Tuesday, February 24, 2009

 

Yellow Circle, White Up

A drive-thru arrow on the pavement. I suppose it's lucky I didn't get run over by someone in a hurry to get their fries and a shake.

Labels: ,

Monday, February 2, 2009

 

Just Grate

Portland's ubiquitous grates around trees at the MAX train stops.

Labels: ,

Thursday, January 29, 2009

 

Rivet Riff

More rivets from the Steel Bridge across the Willamette River in Portland.

Labels: , ,

Wednesday, January 28, 2009

 

Sinister Arch

A spooky view of the "Arch Grid" building near Holgate and Foster. Click for larger view.

Labels: ,

Saturday, January 24, 2009

 

Orange Warnings

Signs of construction in progress. Wouldn't the world be more interesting if lavender had been voted the color for warnings?

Labels:

Friday, January 23, 2009

 

Validator

Validating machine (notorious for never working when you need them) for the MAX train lines.

Labels:

Wednesday, January 21, 2009

 

Beef Jerky

Around the corner of the International Meat and Sausage Grocery on Foster, Holgate and 64th in SE Portland.

Labels:

Tuesday, January 20, 2009

 

What Up?

Graffiti at the NE 7th Avenue MAX train stop.

Labels:

Thursday, January 8, 2009

 

Push for Coin

Cell phones have killed all my fun. As a kid, I used to check all the pay phones for people's forgotten change -- what a thrill to find a quarter or dime. Felt like a millionaire. But no one uses pay phones anymore.

Labels: ,

Tuesday, January 6, 2009

 

Wet Bolt

Bottom of a sign post on a rainy day.

It's been nearly a week since I posted -- and the world kept turning. Nice to have a holiday, but also good to be back in the swing of things. Hope 2009 is filled with good things for you.

Labels:

Tuesday, December 30, 2008

 

Hydrant and the Box of Clothes

Could take your clothes to Goodwill. Or just sit them on the curb. Whatever.

Labels:

Saturday, December 20, 2008

 

Snow Hydrant

Fire hydrant covered in snow. It's been coming down constantly for over 24 hours now and shows no signs of stopping any time soon.

For now, it's fun being "snowed in", but we may need some ideas on how to keep cabin fever at bay.

Labels:

Friday, December 19, 2008

 

Montana Ranch?

Looks like a fence post from a Montana ranch, but it's just proof that snow does fall in a Portland, Oregon neighborhood.

Labels: ,

Thursday, December 18, 2008

 

You've Got Mail

Long row of mailboxes outside an apartment complex.

Labels: ,

Thursday, December 11, 2008

 

Hot Dog, Please

Not open for business today. But I've seen this hot dog stand doing quite the business at Portland's Saturday Market on Ankeny Square.

Labels: ,

Friday, December 5, 2008

 

What I Saw Out the Window

View out an upper window of an old building in the Old Town section of Portland.

Labels:

Tuesday, December 2, 2008

 

Chapel and the Tree

A tree still in color by Mt. Scott Park Presbyterian Church. Yes, in December.

Labels: , ,

Sunday, November 23, 2008

 

Weather Bird

This sign will forever be etched in my brain. Something to stare at in the early morning as I wait for my bus.

Labels: ,

Friday, November 21, 2008

 

You Are Here

Directional sign for the MAX train here in Portland. Sure love that aspect of the TriMet public transit system. The bus? Not so much.

Labels:

Tuesday, November 4, 2008

 

Take Out the Papers and the Trash

Colorful trash and recycle bins outside a house.

Seems fitting considering the election. Out with the old. In with the new. This isn't a political blog (I keep saying that, don't I?) and I'm not about to say who I voted for. I just hope someone will restore America's image and goodwill in the world. There's a big mess to be cleaned up.

Labels: ,

Sunday, November 2, 2008

 

Cash for Cars

The car salesman tells me that this sign has been up since 1970-something. That makes the sign an antique. And me too, now that I think of it.

Labels: , ,

Monday, October 27, 2008

 

Fence Decay

Urban decay both fascinates and bums me. Odd how there can be scenes like this, and a house across the street with an immaculate lawn and flowers--like a neatly trimmed personal oasis for some city dweller.

Labels: ,

Saturday, October 18, 2008

 

Ice Machine at Sunset

Outside a convenience store down the street.

Labels:

Monday, October 13, 2008

 

SE 77th

SE 77th is leaning particularly south.

Labels:

 

 

 

   
 

 

         

Photo Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory