Order Prints and More!
 
Add to Google Reader or Homepage
Subscribe in Bloglines
Subscribe in NewsGator Online

Get these daily photos
directly to your e-mail:

 
 
Follow me on Twitter
 
 
Proud to use a
Canon XTi
from B&H Photo
 
 
       

Crossmark Design Photography

Wednesday, November 4, 2009

 

Back Entrance


Back entrance to a mom-and-pop store near Foster and 92nd in Portland. I'm guessin' they don't use it much.

Labels: , ,

Monday, November 2, 2009

 

Stonewalled


Large stones from a wall at Camp Collins near Gresham, Oregon.

Labels: ,

Friday, October 30, 2009

 

Damascus Carving


Another motif from a headstone at a small cemetery near Damascus, Oregon.

Labels: ,

Friday, October 23, 2009

 

Vented


Just a dryer vent with texture, shadow, shape and mess.

Labels: ,

Wednesday, October 21, 2009

 

Dusky Discs


It's not often I spy farm equipment now that we live in the city. Found this disc while out on a scenic drive in the outskirts.

Labels: ,

Friday, October 16, 2009

 

Viking Bell


A warning bell outside a warehouse near 17th and McLoughlin. The sign next to it says, "If this bell rings, call 9-1-1." That would be an interesting conversation.

Labels: ,

Wednesday, October 14, 2009

 

Chain Proof


Here's proof that I'm not that great of a photographer. What I'm good at it post-processing. =)

Original shot:


Labels:

Tuesday, October 13, 2009

 

For My Grandkids


I don't recycle for myself. I recycle for my grandkids.

(By "I", of course, I mean my wife.)

Labels:

Monday, October 12, 2009

 

17th Street Warehouse


Went out for a drive this weekend looking for a good photo op. Found grunge heaven near 17th and McLoughlin -- an entire block of old warehouses.

Labels: ,

Wednesday, September 30, 2009

 

Wooden Wheel


Continuing my monochromatic theme for the week.

(And for those curious about that teal wall in yesterday's post, click here to see it in color.)

Labels: ,

Monday, September 28, 2009

 

Olde Tyme


Antique clock on display at Philip Foster Farm near Estacada, Oregon. (Philip Foster was one of the first settlers in Oregon.)

Labels:

Tuesday, September 22, 2009

 

Steep Steps


From a lookout tower at the beach in Westport, Washington.

Labels:

Thursday, September 3, 2009

 

No Dump

I guess there's no dump here. Huh.

Labels: ,

Thursday, May 7, 2009

 

Simple Doorway Arch

Grungy arched doorway from a small neighborhood church.

Labels: ,

Wednesday, April 1, 2009

 

Dark Chevy

Emblem from the front of an old Chevy truck. Click for a larger view.

Labels: ,

Thursday, March 26, 2009

 

Tennis Only

The tennis court down the street. "TENNIS ONLY". I have yet to see someone actually playing tennis there.

Labels: , ,

Sunday, March 22, 2009

 

Portland Parks Lock

Rust and a padlock? Who can resist such a grunge photo cliche? Click for larger view.

Labels:

Thursday, February 26, 2009

 

Thousands of Items

Advertising on the side of a building.

Labels: ,

Tuesday, February 24, 2009

 

Yellow Circle, White Up

A drive-thru arrow on the pavement. I suppose it's lucky I didn't get run over by someone in a hurry to get their fries and a shake.

Labels: ,

Tuesday, February 17, 2009

 

Wall and Window

Sunny day, grungy wall, strange thing in the window.

Labels:

Thursday, January 29, 2009

 

Rivet Riff

More rivets from the Steel Bridge across the Willamette River in Portland.

Labels: , ,

Friday, December 12, 2008

 

Upstairs

Creakity stairs, squeakity door. Grungy, grungy.

Labels: ,

Wednesday, December 10, 2008

 

Three Chains

Why is rust so photogenic?

Labels:

Monday, December 1, 2008

 

NEPO

Detail from a fire hydrant.

Labels:

Sunday, November 23, 2008

 

Weather Bird

This sign will forever be etched in my brain. Something to stare at in the early morning as I wait for my bus.

Labels: ,

Wednesday, November 19, 2008

 

This Train

I ride the electric commuter train to work every day here in Oregon, but don't see many old freight trains any more.

Labels: ,

Monday, November 10, 2008

 

Bath Mirror

Muted fall colors mirrored in a bird bath.

Labels:

Thursday, November 6, 2008

 

Fix You

I've had the song "Fix You" by Coldplay going through my head all day. Seems to go well with this photo and my mood.

Labels:

Sunday, November 2, 2008

 

Cash for Cars

The car salesman tells me that this sign has been up since 1970-something. That makes the sign an antique. And me too, now that I think of it.

Labels: , ,

Monday, October 27, 2008

 

Fence Decay

Urban decay both fascinates and bums me. Odd how there can be scenes like this, and a house across the street with an immaculate lawn and flowers--like a neatly trimmed personal oasis for some city dweller.

Labels: ,

Saturday, October 25, 2008

 

Tree Abstraction

Tree shadow on the wall.

Labels: ,

Sunday, October 5, 2008

 

Loading

The side of a parked train.

Labels: ,

Monday, September 29, 2008

 

3800

Random shot from a junkyard. If you can tell me what make / model of vehicle it came off of, you win... um... bragging rights?

Labels: ,

Friday, September 26, 2008

 

Spike and Plate

Rusted plate and spike on a railroad track.

Labels:

Thursday, September 25, 2008

 

Pane

Broken window from an old train depot.

Labels: ,

Saturday, July 26, 2008

 

Volvo on a Lonely Street

Old Volvo with no place to go. Stitched from five separate photos.

Labels: ,

Saturday, July 19, 2008

 

Oregon Farms

After nine months of our new urban life, the sight of a rusty ol' tractor and wide open fields of fruit and grains refreshed my soul this weekend. If only I could have the idyllic country setting with a shopping mall, coffee shop, and plenty of restaurants right next door. I'm a study in contrasts.

Labels: ,

Tuesday, July 15, 2008

 

Master

Lockin' up nothing in particular. Just a padlock on a pole.

-------------------

Still going with yesterday's contest post. If you haven't posted your guess yet, be sure to. The winner gets a free 5x7 of any Crossmark photo. Those who don't win can always order prints and other stuff here or here. =)

Labels:

Saturday, June 28, 2008

 

Coin Laundry

Retro laundromat sign. Love the goofy water drop guy.

Labels: ,

Wednesday, June 25, 2008

 

Trash Bash

It's hard enough being a trash can without having your sides bashed in. Stuck in a corner. By yourself.

Labels: ,

Monday, June 16, 2008

 

Boarded Window

A broken, boarded-up window. Like a lot of people who've given up hope.

Labels: ,

Wednesday, June 11, 2008

 

No Red

Traffic signal sign approaching the Steel Bridge over the Willamette River in Portland. I didn't remove the color from the red light. That's just how the sign was. Did somebody steal the little red circle?

Labels: ,

Wednesday, June 4, 2008

 

Rusty Bump

A flaky, rusty bump by the railroad tracks.

Labels:

Thursday, May 29, 2008

 

O

An engraved "O" from a sign on the campus of Reed College here in Portland. Or is it a giant stone eyeball?

Labels:

Saturday, April 26, 2008

 

Pipe Shadow

A rainwater drain pipe casts a long shadow at high noon.

Labels: , ,

Sunday, March 23, 2008

 

Rusty Grid

Rusted window on a school door. Looks more like a prison though.

Labels:

Wednesday, March 19, 2008

 

Patina Gate

The ubiquitous pale turquois metal guarding the public transit system in Portland.

Labels: ,

Tuesday, March 18, 2008

 

Green Door

A forgotten door to a forgotten building.

Labels: ,

Wednesday, March 5, 2008

 

Hatch Lumber

All that's left of an abandoned lumber yard.

Labels: ,

 

 

 

   
 

 

         

Photo Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory