Order Prints and More!
 
Add to Google Reader or Homepage
Subscribe in Bloglines
Subscribe in NewsGator Online

Get these daily photos
directly to your e-mail:

 
 
Follow me on Twitter
 
 
Proud to use a
Canon XTi
from B&H Photo
 
 
       

Crossmark Design Photography

Thursday, October 29, 2009

 

Orb Yellow


A not-as-gigantic-as-it-appears sphere -- a bit of playground equipment at Marysville School in southeast Portland.

Labels:

Monday, October 26, 2009

 

Ball and Stripes


There's a brand spankin' new playground at Marysville School in Portland. Bright colors abound.

(My son had to throw this ball up in front of the wall only about four times until we go the shot.)

Labels:

Thursday, October 15, 2009

 

Razor Loop


A loop of razor wire keeping the snoopers out of a warehouse lot.

I like to call this photo "Something My Mother Would Never Take A Picture Of".

Labels:

Thursday, October 8, 2009

 

Refractions


A visual cacophony created by the Fresnel lens at the Grays Harbor Lighthouse near Westport, Washington.

Labels:

Tuesday, October 6, 2009

 

Sentimental Doodle


A sentimental doodle in the sand at Westport, Washington.

Labels:

Wednesday, September 9, 2009

 

One Blue Rung

Lents Park playground in Portland.

Labels:

Wednesday, May 6, 2009

 

Around

Dizzy shot of the Riverfront Carousel in Salem, Oregon. Same carousel that this horse is on. The blue fish thing in the lower left corner holds a ring that the kids can try to reach out and grab. Winners get a free carousel ride. Losers--the kids who fall off trying to grab the ring--get a free lawsuit filing.

Labels:

Tuesday, April 28, 2009

 

Carousel Horse

Horse head from the Riverfront Carousel in Salem, Oregon. Kids riding the carousel can reach out and try to grab a ring hanging on a pole. If they catch the ring, they get a free ride. (Click for larger view.)

Labels:

Wednesday, April 8, 2009

 

Portland Water

Portland is called the "Rose City". Though I haven't seen any more roses here than elsewhere in the U.S.

Labels:

Thursday, March 26, 2009

 

Tennis Only

The tennis court down the street. "TENNIS ONLY". I have yet to see someone actually playing tennis there.

Labels: , ,

Wednesday, March 18, 2009

 

Ooga Mask

Hanging on the front of a house in the neighborhood.

Labels:

Thursday, March 12, 2009

 

Pole Stuff

That's a lot of stuff on them poles.

Labels:

Wednesday, March 4, 2009

 

Fence Slats

Chain fence with slats -- patterns that mesmerize me.

Click for larger view.

Labels:

Tuesday, March 3, 2009

 

Marlboro

Labels:

Thursday, February 19, 2009

 

Padlocked Pipes

I'm a sucker for visually repeating items.

Labels:

Wednesday, February 18, 2009

 

Barbed

Rusty barbed wire. See it in the country to keep cattle where they belong. See it in the city to keep people where they belong.

Labels:

Tuesday, February 10, 2009

 

Spiral Bulb

Modern spirals of an energy-efficient light bulb.

Labels:

Monday, February 2, 2009

 

Just Grate

Portland's ubiquitous grates around trees at the MAX train stops.

Labels: ,

Saturday, January 10, 2009

 

Pluggy

Electrical outlets from an old building.

Labels:

Thursday, January 8, 2009

 

Push for Coin

Cell phones have killed all my fun. As a kid, I used to check all the pay phones for people's forgotten change -- what a thrill to find a quarter or dime. Felt like a millionaire. But no one uses pay phones anymore.

Labels: ,

Wednesday, December 24, 2008

 

Frozen to the Fence

Icy leaf frozen to a fence.

This photo has nothing to do with the holidays, but Merry Christmas everyone!

Labels:

Wednesday, December 17, 2008

 

Too Chilly to Play

A neighbor's playhouse. But too cold to play today.

Labels:

Tuesday, November 18, 2008

 

USPS

So I take pictures of postal trucks. It's an odd hobby.

Labels: ,

Sunday, November 9, 2008

 

Spoon in the Road

To paraphrase Will Rogers, "When you come to a spoon in the road, take it."

Labels:

Tuesday, November 4, 2008

 

Take Out the Papers and the Trash

Colorful trash and recycle bins outside a house.

Seems fitting considering the election. Out with the old. In with the new. This isn't a political blog (I keep saying that, don't I?) and I'm not about to say who I voted for. I just hope someone will restore America's image and goodwill in the world. There's a big mess to be cleaned up.

Labels: ,

Sunday, November 2, 2008

 

Cash for Cars

The car salesman tells me that this sign has been up since 1970-something. That makes the sign an antique. And me too, now that I think of it.

Labels: , ,

Sunday, October 26, 2008

 

Fenced America

A shot from a neighbor's yard as I was out photo-walking this weekend. This blog isn't about politics, but this image could make a strong statement for those who oppose building a fence between the U.S. and Mexico.

Labels:

Monday, October 20, 2008

 

Fence and Shadow

A study in light, lines, angles and depth.

Labels:

Thursday, October 16, 2008

 

Along the Sidewalk

View along the sidewalk. Not sure what's so special about it. I just liked the feel and intersection of lines and shapes.

Labels:

Tuesday, October 14, 2008

 

When Pigs Fly


Rooftop ornament from the neighborhood. Insert your own pig joke here.

Labels:

Saturday, October 4, 2008

 

Bakery

From a cafe nearby. They make some incredible chocolate espresso cookies.

Labels: ,

Wednesday, October 1, 2008

 

7303

Numbers from a telephone pole.

Labels:

Tuesday, September 30, 2008

 

Pallet Stack

Stacks of pallets, like grown up Lego blocks.

Labels:

Saturday, September 20, 2008

 

Tennis Anyone?

Rusty chain link fence around a tennis court at Grant Park in Portland.

Labels:

Monday, September 15, 2008

 

Caged Candle

An imprisoned flame.

Labels:

Sunday, August 17, 2008

 

Recycle

Guerilla tactics in the war on waste. A graffiti reminder on the handle of a dumpster lid to prick the conscience of anyone about to contribute unnecessarily to the landfill. Gotta love Portland.

Labels: ,

Friday, August 1, 2008

 

3 on Hydrant

Since yesterday's post obsessed with fire, it's only fitting to post a fire hydrant today.

"Never seen nobody take a picture of hydrant b'fore," says the middle-aged lady watching me from her driveway.

I forget how strange I must look--of course, I am a strange looking person in general--kneeling in the middle of the street to get just the right angle.

"Well, it's the ordinary stuff that makes for interesting shots," I smile back. "We get so used to it, we stop paying attention."

"Guess that's right," she nods.

Labels: ,

Thursday, July 31, 2008

 

Caustic Wisp

Love campfires. Hate smelling like smoke.

So how do you scientifically categorize fire? Doesn't seem like it fits as a solid or liquid or a gas. Those are nouns. Fire seems like a verb--a caustic wisp of inbetween when something alive escapes into nothingness, leaving ashes as a memory.

Am I the only one who ponders fire?

Labels:

Wednesday, July 23, 2008

 

Filament

Summer night, evening lights, and music in the air. An outdoor concert on the lawn wraps up a fun evening of berry picking at Sauvie Island in Portland.

Labels:

Saturday, July 12, 2008

 

Never Trust A Skinny Cook

"Never Trust A Skinny Cook" was the title a favorite cookbook of my mother's. This jolly chef stands outside the M&M Restaurant (not like the candy) on north Main street in Gresham, Oregon.

Labels:

Thursday, July 10, 2008

 

Dollar Dogs

Found myself bemused by this vendor's sign selling hotdogs today. Mostly because right across the street was the "Dog Town" canine obedience school.

Coincidence?

Labels:

Sunday, July 6, 2008

 

Your Tough Luck

Classy sign from a less-than-upscale establishment.

Labels:

Thursday, July 3, 2008

 

Birdless Bath

Overgrown, worn away, waterless bird bath. Sad day for dirty birds.

Labels:

Tuesday, June 17, 2008

 

Frozen Fountain 2

Cool drink on a summer's day. A public outdoor water fountain in Portland. Similar to this shot from last fall.

Labels: ,

Friday, June 13, 2008

 

Nothin' But Net

Basketball hoop at dusk. Just another sight around the neighborhood during tonight's photo walk.

Labels:

Tuesday, June 10, 2008

 

Can Can

Soda can on the sidewalk. Or is it a "pop" can? "Coke" can (even if it's not Coke inside it)?

What do they call it where you're from?

(For those of you wondering why this didn't post yesterday, blame Blogger. Sometimes gives me fits when it comes to uploading photos.)

Labels:

Sunday, June 8, 2008

 

Sunset Sailboat

A miniature boat sails off into the horizon--where I suppose the tiny sailors will go home to their tiny houses, eat tiny dinners, and sleep in tiny beds.

Westmoreland Park in southeast Portland.

Labels:

Friday, May 23, 2008

 

This Phone Is Tapped

Bright red phone in Portland's China Town.

--SHAMELESS SELF-PROMOTION ALERT--

Happy birthday to Crossmark Photo Blog! Been at it pretty much daily for one whole year. Wanna send me a present? If ya like what ya see, tell a friend and invite them to subscribe.

Order Prints and More!

Labels: ,

Saturday, May 17, 2008

 

Pale Ale

Four bottles of Mirror Pond Pale Ale left behind at Mt. Tabor park, as if an intentional art display.

At 90-something degrees, the weather was a tad on the warmish side, but a beautiful day for the park.

Labels:

 

 

 

   
 

 

         

Photo Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory